Book Review: Grieving the Child I never Knew by Kathe Wunnenberg

Oh my heart. Grieving the Child I Never Knew by Kathe Wunnenberg is the perfect little gift book for any mama with aching arms. It is “a devotional for comfort in the loss of your unborn or newly born child” with 31 days of devotional content written by a mama that has experienced loss 4 times and recovered by hanging on the the grace, hope and love of Jesus.

_240_360_Book.1793.cover

I personally have not had to endure the loss of a child but my family has. I don’t feel that it is my story to share here so you can read about it here on my mom’s blog.

Although I have never myself lost a child, my mama heart is right there with you other mamas that have. my heart breaks with yours. i know that i can’t fully comprehend your loss or know the depths of it but i can grieve with you and hope with you.

Grieving the Child I Never Knew is such a beautiful friend to have beside you. as i read through the introduction i just cried thinking of my family and what they will be facing as my nephew’s due date approaches. I was going to hold on to this sweet book to give at christmas but am rethinking of giving it sooner.

Kathe Wunnenberg speaks just beautifully and gracefully and asks the hard questions that maybe mama hasn’t allowed herself to open up to. right away in the contents she gives 8 different ways to use the book and pages for special days or needs.

the whole book is broken up into 7 parts, altogether it is 31 days. each part has a special theme: hiding, suffering, questioning, forgiving, relating, seeking and sharing your story. she also has included a prayer guide for special days, a discussion guide, a scripture index and a special note on the end.

the cover is beautiful, the layout is beautiful and the entries are short, pointed and deep with guided prayers and scriptures to encourage and “give permission” for grieving and healing.

 

Snapchat--7103808924427753244

Snapchat--360365200250245656

Snapchat--33130257972263947

Snapchat--6051992928860803783

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : β€œGuides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

